Who Are We?

• 26 replies
  • 45 subscribers

One of those daft thoughts that went round my head when I couldn't sleep this morning, I only know most of you through your/our cancers which is such a narrow part of who we are so I wondered if you would share a little of the other bits of you.

I am a former nurse and environmental scientist. My ideal lifestyle is as a smallholder, I did it for a few years but sadly I am now no longer physically up to it, the farm animals are gone and I shall have to cultivate runner beans instead. I used to ride motorbikes for fun and my vices include a glass of Baileys, bacon sarnies with brown sauce and perfect desert would be a decent trifle.

The hobby I never got to do was study herbalism and probably a bit late now.

• Heya Nicky,

Interesting thread, and interesting person you are! I will say, def not too late to start learning herbalism if that's what you want to do. There are def online courses you can sign up to, then do in your own time. So I would def say to go for it!

As for me, 38, did Animal Biology with animal behaviour, physiology, and psychology at University but didn't finish the course due to personal reasons. So there went my dreams of being the next Dian Fossey or Marty Crump! Ended up falling into Facilities Management as a Facilities Co-ordinator, and ran all of the PPM contracts for the north of England - roughly 3,000 jobs a month to organise. Was diagnosed with cancer at 31, so left the job as my colleagues were twats. After a few years my health looked to be improving so I retrained as a professional baker, patissier, and chocolatier - but my health declined again.