Hello

• 11 replies
  • 22 subscribers

I'm new to my stoma, 2 weeks in after emergency major surgery for a blockage in my bowel, hoping to get some help on here when needed. The NHS and stoma nurses have been great but it'll be lovely to have a community who know what I'm going through 

• Hi  and welcome to our group.

Brilliant name by the way! We all have lots of different experiences in the group of living with various types of stomas, so there should be plenty advice for you going forward and lots of experiences we can share. How are you feeling? It must have been a shock to have emergency surgery, and things will be very new for you.

Do you mind me asking what kind of stoma you have and is it permanent or temporary? This can help you connect with others who have the same type. I have a permanent colostomy and urostomy after total pelvic exenteration for recurrent cervical cancer so am a “double bagger”.my surgery was 4 years ago so I’ve lived with them for a while now.

Please feel free to ask any questions you like-never feel anything is too trivial or silly. It takes a bit of time for the stoma to heal and settle, so it can take a bit of getting used to. But I think most of us find we soon adapt and get into the way of dealing with it/them. We’ll have lots of tips to share with you about how we manage and from our own experiences. Although the nurses etc can be an excellent source of medical advice, there’s nothing quite like speaking with people who actually have lived experience, 

I hope you’re starting to recover nicely-take it easy, and I look forward to chatting with you in the group.

Sarah xx

Community Champion Badge

Cervical Cancer Forum

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm