I can’t find my way back…

• 6 replies
  • 9 subscribers

I am a Christian and grew up in Pentecostal circles. My parents were ministers so naturally I married one too and had 2 beautiful children (19  and 11) unfortunately the marriage was troubled from the beginning and though we tried to hold on, in the end we couldn’t continue destroying each other. I have been raising my girls as a single parent for the last 11 years. And for the most part I have been very angry with life and with God because the last 11 years have felt like hell on earth. I have struggled with keeping my faith and hope because you know, how can God watch me and the kids suffer and be ok with it? So whilst I was a very active Christian I have slowly walked away from it all. When covid hit and everything shut down I was relieved. I have not been back to church simce covid.

Fast forward to 2023 I was staring to feel ok in myself again and had some desire to walk back to God, start going to church again etc, but I just couldn’t find the motivation. I kept telling myself I will try again next week. Then in October my life fell apart yet again, just when I was starting to breathe again, I was diagnosed with breast cancer! I am once again feeling angry with God. So I not deserve a break from life’s struggles? If not me then at least my innocent kids. Whilst I have tried to shield them from the pain and trauma that comes along with a family break up, the reality is that they have experienced pain and sadness and now they have to deal with the fear of losing the only parent who has been there for them? How does God let this happen? How can I find my way back when I am feeling like this? I don’t know the point of this post really but this is the first time in a little over a decade that I have said (well written my thoughts ) out loud. 

• Hi  and welcome to our little corner of the community and well done putting your thought down in here.