Income protection for sole trader

• 3 replies
  • 11 subscribers

Hi

I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2019 and finished active treatment a couple of years after (including surgery, chemo, radio and herceptin) and am now on adjuvant treatment. 

I work as a psychotherapist in the NHS and I want to move away from the NHS due to the high stress levels and start my own business. I have started looking into income protection insurance (and also critical illness insurance but I think income protection is more suitable) and was wondering if there is a particular insurance you can recommend that covers cancer as a pre-existing condition and what your experiences are on whether this is economically valuable or not. (I am aware that this might be different case by case but most to see whether this is actually an option or not)

Thank you so much for your time and for getting back to me. 

• Hi ,

Thanks for posting your question. This is just a quick notification to let you know that I have moved your question over to our Ask a Financial Guide forum, as they will be best positioned to advise you further.

As always, if you need any help or support relating to your previous diagnosis, please don't hesitate to give our Macmillan Support Line a call. The Support Line teams can be reached on freephone 0808 808 00 00, and they're open from 8am to 8pm, 7 days a week.

Wishing you all the best in your new venture! Relaxed

All the best,
    Matthew
    Macmillan Online Community Team

• Hi  ,

Thanks for getting in touch. I’m sorry to hear you’re having such difficulties getting income protection or critical illness insurance. This can be quite common for those who’ve had a cancer diagnosis in the past.