Staying positive

2 minute read time.

As an ex-infant teacher, I know that if you focus on misbehaviour, the other children tend to join in because that is what gets your attention. When we were all sitting as a group, I had 3 stages for dealing with misbehaviour: 1) Compliment the children behaving well. That had the effect of pulling all the other children into line and often stopped the misbehaviour, 2) If needed, a support staff member would sit by the child and encourage them quietly, or sometimes just to be with them was enough, particularly when we understood the causes and the child, 3) the support staff member would remove the child; sometimes they needed a quiet chat (often they had a good reason that needed hearing), sometimes they could not cope with large groups but were fine with some 1-1 time, sometimes they struggled to sit still and listen and were better where they could move.