First stop on my journey

4 minute read time.

Don't really get the gist of blogs so will just write and hope for the best :) 

(Lung Cancer) I'd been feeling low on energy for a few months but put it down to me working 2 jobs 7 days a week and the fact I was nearing the dreaded menopausal age. I was coughing a lot and again I dismissed it to overusing my voice in both my jobs (I was a swimming teacher and a learning support assistant) plus having that frowned upon habit of dare I mention it, smoking. I was losing weight but nothing extreme and I've always been the runt of the family so it didn't ring any alarm bells. It wasn't until I was finding even the smallest task unmanageable that I decided it was time to visit the doctors, that was towards the end of 2009. Anyway she examined me, all the usual stuff plus took some blood to check some hormone levels, asked if I was stressed about anything etc, etc. She phoned me a few days later to say that the blood results confirmed that I was in fact going through the menopause. All that fuss about nothing I thought. The tiredness didn't go away and although I didn't as a rule weigh myself on a regular basis I knew I was still losing weight as I had to buy a belt to keep my trousers up, well I would never have lived it down if they had fell down in front of the youngsters I worked with, come to think of it I doubt my work colleagues would have let me live it down haha. I got a bit of a rude awakening one morning when I was coughing my guts up and thinking yet again that I really needed to give up the fags, my phlegm had streaks of blood in it. I didn't go rushing to the doctors but all that day it was playing on my mind. It wasn't until a couple of weeks later that I finally phoned the doctors, she asked me to go down that morning. She checked me over and felt I had a chest infection so was given antibiotics and advice on giving up smoking. After a few days of taking the medicine I wasn't any better, I felt bloody awful. I