radical vulvectomy

• 8 replies
  • 27 subscribers

Hi, I am new to this community (my 1st on-line community)

I am looking to connect w/other females who have experienced a radical vulvectomy

Although it has been >90 days I am still devastated from the loss

• Hello Kimberly, I'm so sorry you're finding life difficult at the moment. I am very new to my vulval cancer and don't know yet what my treatment will be.  I am 74 though and live alone so wouldn't be quite so traumatic for me as I'm guessing you're a lot younger.  There is lots of support in this group though and I'm sure you'll get some helpful answers and insight into coping with life now. Sending love and healing xx

• Hi Kimberly 

Can't give u any advise sorry I've only just been diagnosed but I will be having to have this op myself soon. So can imagine what your thoughts might be.  This is a good place if not to get advise just to know someone else does understand what you are going through. Hope u feel better soon xx

• Well thank-you for replying...I got a 2nd opinion before surgery and felt more comfortable w/that surgeon...and I am very glad I did as he diid a great job and physically I healed very well.  The facility I went to had support set-up for me w/nurses coming to the hotel  (I live in a very rural area hrs. from care so I chose to stay in a hotel a mile from surgeons office)  every other day .  The first few wks. I just followed instructions .  The emotional healing has been harder...but I have faith the surgeon made the right choice so I can be cancer free .Hope all goes well for your surgery and swift healing.  FYI, I am 62...feel free to ask me any ?'s

• Thank-you for responding.  I am 62 yrs. old.  I am happy to answer any ?'s you may have...I was lucky that I had great faith in my surgeon...trust your instincts

• Hi ,

Welcome to the online community, although I’m sorry you find yourself here.