low grade BCC on lower eyelid/upper cheek.

• 9 replies
  • 34 subscribers

Hi, I’m new to this. My husband was diagnosed with low grade skin cancer on Wednesday. It’s a BCC, and that’s all the doctor said, and referred him to a plastic surgeon. There was no further information besides a leaflet about BCC (which I had already looked up on Google) 

I feel as though it wasn't really explained. And now my husband is very distant, moody and snapping a lot. Which I can understand, but our relationship has been very strained lately, pre-diagnosis, and I am always the one who “deals” with things. And I don’t know what to do or say. I have told him to contact the Life Insurance, he won’t do it. He won’t talk to me about it. It’s like he just wants to ignore it. I know it’s not as serious as some cancers. And I am thankful that he does not have to go through the chemo etc. (The doctor said it will just be surgery to remove the bcc)

I really don’t know what to do, or say. He doesn’t want to tell the kids, but the way he is reacting, has made the kids ask what’s wrong with dad, and I’m the one dealing with it, and lying to the kids. 

I feel like I’m going crazy, I suffer with depression and anxiety, have done for over 20 years. And I always have been the stronger one, but I feel helpless. I know I’m being selfish, and I should be thinking about what he’s going through, and I am trying, but like I said he doesn’t want to discuss it. 

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the online community which I hope you'll find is both an informative and supportive place to be.

I'm sorry to read that your husband has just been diagnosed with a BCC and that, as a consequence, your relationship is very strained. It's not good that you've come away from the meeting with your husband's consultant feeling that his cancer has not been explained. I have had a BCC, as have the majority of people in this group, so I'm sure we'll be able to help. What would you like to ask or know?