MRI with contrast

• 11 replies
  • 134 subscribers

Hi I’m still very new (scared)  to everything I’m 55 first psa 3.7 repeat was 5.04. I have been put on the pathway and had my MRI scheduled for next Wednesday. Is says MRI with contrast, can anyone explain what it is please…don’t know why but I’ve been crying on and off today after receiving the letter may because it’s just become formal. I’m a retired firefighter due to severe PTSD back in 2014 so maybe that why my emotions are all over the place. Thank you very much to anyone who responds 

• Hi SCJ and welcome 

To begin with u don't even know if u have PC yet with those PSa figures and no MRI done .

MRI contrast gives enhanced images of the prostrate to help determine if cancer present.

I wouldn't worry to much at this stage because even if it is it will probably be easily treatable with PSa figures near normal.

I am sure they haven't said to u that it is cancer?

Keep us posted, there are plenty of people on here who can help you.

All the best

Steve 

• Hi SCJ.

Good afternoon and welcome to our prostate cancer family sorry to have meet you under these circumstances though!!!!

Please please don't feel scared as you have come to the right place for help and support my friend.

Your PSA numbers are very very low so by the looks of things the cancer has been caught in the early stages which is good news.

I am very sorry to hear about your severe PTSD. Yes my journey started last June 2023 with a PSA off 1000+. After 12mnts of HT the PSA is now 1.79 which is crazy but good.

The contrast for your scan is something that is injected in to your veins so that they can see the details required to give a better more accurate diagnosis.

I have had many of these scans in and around my brain following my Stroke in 1998.

I hope that this is ok???

Prostate Worrier.

• Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. I don’t know what I would do without this forum with all the stories of hope and support