Struggling with Dads diagnosis

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 7 replies
  • 44 subscribers

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, just joining this group to share our story and hopefully find some reassurance and comfort from all the incredible people on this forum.

My Dad was diagnosed with PC in October 2019 - at that point we were told that he had caught it very early and was a candidate for surgery. The oncologist decided to complete 3 months of Folfirinox and 6 weeks of radiation therapy to maximize chances of resecting the tumour. Unfortunately a scan post Folfirinox showed that the tumour was no longer operable. Dad is worried that the wrong decision was made and that he should have had surgery straight away.

After a completing the folfirinox and radiation therapy, Dad has just received the results of his recent scan which has shown that the chemo and radiation has had no effect. Unfortunately the cancer has now spread to his liver and the doctors have told us he may only have 6 months left, even with further chemo.

Dad has decided to go ahead with gemc+abrax starting next week with the hope that this may have some effect in managing further progression/prolong his life.

Dad is only 56 and we are all absolutely devasted. We are a large family ranging from age 17-33 plus x2 young grandchildren (4 and 2weeks old) and my 30 hear old sister is 18 weeks pregnant. We are all struggling with the thoughts that he may not make it to Christmas or to meet my sister's baby. I live in London and feel at a total loss of what I should do.

Thanks in advance for any sharing of similar experiences or words of encouragement xx

• Hello sorchaadune

I am truly sorry to hear this about your Dad and this is very worrying for you and your family. I don't have medical qualifications. I'm here because my husband had pancreatic cancer and his story is, in some ways, similar to your dad.