Pancreatic cancer BRCA2 and Lynparza

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 4 replies
  • 45 subscribers

Good morning,  

I'm new to the Online Community.   I'm 55 with children 13 and 18.

6 years ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Told as no family history - I was ineligible for genetic testing.   This was despite having no information as to my father or his family because of my parents divorce.  Told unlikely to have inherited from my father's side of family. 

In June 2019, having first visited my GP in March, HPB consultant diagnosed  gallstones and scheduled gallbladder removal in December 2019.   November 2019, when I pressed for a CT scan after worsening symptoms - diagnosed stage IV pancreatic cancer inoperable and incurable by same HPB consultant. Life expectancy less than 12 months. 

2 years previously discovered my father died of pancreatic cancer.

I asked for genetic testing.   Results came back end of February 2020.  I have BRCA2 mutation.   High risk for breast and ovarian.   At risk of pancreatic cancer. 

I've just completed 8 rounds of Folfirinox.   Scan at midway point ( pre genetic test result). Showed very good response.   Have been approved for Parp inhibitor - Lynparza  - not yet licenced by NICE for pancreatic cancer .  Astra zeneca has just agreed to give me Lynparza on compassionate grounds.   Am due to start this mid April.

Would love to hear from anyone with any experience of anything in my story.  

• Hello Regis

Thanks for sharing your story.

I'm sorry you haven't had a response. The forum is quite quiet just now. I cannot recall anyone here recently with BRCA 2 mutation. Have you tried posting on the forum of Pancreatic Cancer UK? You might get a response there.

It is great that Folfirinox worked so well and I hope that continues with Lynparza.

Squeaky

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to Squeaky

Thank you for replying Squeaky.