Essential Thrombocythaemia

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 17 replies
  • 20 subscribers

I know this is a grey area but I still not sure if Essential Thrombocythaemia is a form of Chronic leukemia or not.  Please could somebody clarify this for me.  Some say blood disorder other say cancer.

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to FormerMember

Hello Debbo - I would say 'welcome' but I guess none of us really wants to be here.

I'm no expert on ET as so far I am very fortunate in not experiencing many side-effects either from the problem or the medication (which, in my case is hydro-carbamide and baby aspirin).  May I suggest you pop along to https://healthunlocked.com/ and their MPN Voice Community where you will find lots of people all experiencing the same health concerns and more than happy to help where they can.  

The other site I thoroughly recommend you reading through is http://www.mpnvoice.org.uk

as it is full of useful information about our condition.

• FormerMember

Hi there,

If you've got any problems or need any help, remember you can email community@macmillan.org.uk and we'll be able to help.

Jess

Macmillan Community Team

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

It is a blood disorder that in most cases can be controlled. 

However it is still a form of bone marrow cancer,  but not chronic myeloid leukaemis which is to di with the white cells in the blood.

Thrombocythaemia is too many platelets, also they are not prooerly formed,  they are rogue cells. They cannot do their proper  job.

Without treatment we are liable to bleeds/stroke or clots - heart attack oy emboli.

When I was diagnosed in May 2017, I was very shocked as I had been ckeared and discharged at another hospital the previous year.

Bone marrow biopsy confirmed the diagnosis.  I didnt believe the consultant at first but quickky came to the realisation that he was talking sense,  when he said I had to go on chemotherapy  straight away.