Polar R Chop

• 4 replies
  • 39 subscribers

Hi , 

I’m new to this . 
my husband has Diffuse B Cell NHL high grade . 
anyone else had the polar R chop ? 
we have been told this has only been out 18 months ? 
he is four cycles down , experiencing pain in groin and tummy sometimes . 
wondering if chemo effects ? The pain worries him more than anything , thinking it’s not the chemo but the lymphoma 

Thank you 

• Hi    and a warm welcome to this corner of the Community although I am sorry to see you joining us and to hear about your husband. I am Mike and I help out around our various Lymphoma groups. 

I don’t have DLBCL but for some context I was diagnosed way back in 1999 at 43 with a rare (8 in a million) incurable but treatable type of Cutaneous T-Cell NHL (a type of slow growing Low-grade non-Hodgkin lymphoma) ……. eventually reaching Stage 4a in late 2013 when a second, also rare (4 in a million) type of aggressive Peripheral T-Cell - Not Otherwise Specified NHL (a type of fast growing High-grade non-Hodgkin lymphoma) was then presenting so although my Lymphoma ‘type’ is different I most definitely appreciate the challenges of this journey rather well.

Pola R-chop is being used a lot now to treat various types of NHLs and there have been a few folks pass through the group who have had it so let’s see if they pick up on your post…… but this treatment is proving to be a good treatment.

I had 6 cycles of R-EPOCH in late 2013 to early 2014 and this treatment was very similar with most of the same drugs being used.