Hello; first post

• 4 replies
  • 34 subscribers

Hello all, I am just about to have my second R-Chop Chemo session to treat High-Grade non-Hodgkin lymphoma and after the first session I am apprehensive about the sickness and feelings of isolation and dislocation if this is the same as the first time.

The staff and NHS folks have been great, my family and friends are super supportive but I have never been ill previously and if I take time to think about the wider impact i find overwhelming, so I focus on the next day, the net step and the practical stuff I can impact. I also find I get really angry about stupid unimportant nonsense which I have never done before... 

Overall I am very lucky compared to many, the disease was diagnosed early and prognostics is great ...  but it is still CANCER !!

More to come ..

The Speysider

• Hi  and welcome to this corner of the Community although always sorry to see folks joining us. I am Mike  and I help out around our blood cancer groups.

I was diagnosed way back in 1999 with a rare incurable but treatable low grade skin NHL Stage 4a and although my Lymphoma ‘type’ is different I have experienced most types of treatments used but not necessarily the exact same drug mix but understand this journey rather well unfortunately.

Speysider!! living in Spayside or from Spayside?....... I am in Inverness.

You will see from my profile (hit ) my journey is very different but that is the joy of having one of the rare types of NHL. You say High Grade NHL.......what exact type?

There are many tools that can help with Nausea, one med one week may not be effective the next so remember not to suffer in silence when it comes to nausea there are lots of tools available - but your team need to know how you are getting on.