WLE on ankle

• 22 replies
  • 47 subscribers

Got my diagnosis of Stage 1B on Thursday and told I need SLNB and WLE on my ankle.  Just looking for info and experience from anyone who's had surgery in similar place?  Mine is just above where I wear shoes so I'm not sure how that will be affected and I'm wondering how people's mobility was immediately after surgery?

Thank you.

• Hi I had wle just below ankle on inside of right foot and skin graft plus slnb in groin. I had to have 6 weeks of work plus I had surgery 2 weeks before I was due back to work so 8 weeks altogether. I'm back at work now but foot not quite healed it does get uncomfortable when on it for 2 long so I'm on reduced hours at moment  and light duties as my job on feet all day i work in a school in catering so its physical. I did nearly managed 8 hours yesterday but it was aching afterwards and legs. I dont want to scare you all anything but unfortunately my lymph nodes had tiny melanoma so I'm now stage 3 but mine was 2mm breslow so it was high risks. I got to have a pet scan on Tuesday to make sure there is no small melanoma body and then to oncologist to see about treatment.  I know its hard not to worry but there is a lot of treatment.  

• Hi have a look at my profile mine was on the inside of my foot.Crutches for a couple of weeks and difficult wearing shoes, but improved in a couple of weeks.My foot and ankle were swollen for a while,so lots of massage and exercise.

Happy to give more info

Good luck as you move forward.

• Hi have a look at my profile mine was on the side of my foot.I was on crutches for a couple of weeks, some swelling and nerve pain .My skin graft took well.

SNLB didn't give me much problem as a wound. I did have a Seroma, a sack of fluid in the groin area which took some time to go down.

They did find some cancer cells in my lymph nodes so I have now had 6 sessions of immunotherapy,  3 to go.Doing well now,walking normally,no issues and getting on with my life.