Husband just been diagnosed....help!

• 14 replies
  • 105 subscribers

I am new to all this & feel completely alone & devastated that my husband has been diagnosed this week with lung cancer, he also has it in lymph node 2 so will need an operation to remove it then more treatments presumably chemo. To add to this he has Smouldering myeloma & a few other minor issues.

Its all so frightening & as my husband is the one that’s always been there to support me with my numerous ((not cancer) health problems I don’t know how we will cope. He was fit & very healthy before all this was found after a routine x Ray when he went to the GP with a chest infection.  

Its early days as he was diagnosed on Friday after CT & PET scans, bronchoscopy, biopsy, blood tests etc. I’m terrified & would appreciate any help, advice & support this community can offer. All the forthcoming appointments & treatments have overwhelmed us . Thanks to anyone who replies

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to Jewel08

Hi Helen 

This is to look at the very bottom (excuse the pun) of the colon so it isn't particularly intrusive.

When I got a call for mine there was quite a wait, even for private. I explained it was part of my staging tests and they had a cancellation there and then, so if I could get there now, they would do it immediately.

So there was no preparation required, not even another wash and fresh knickers! 

They have a look round to see if they can see anything and the only way to describe it is they use what I think we're called billows to fan an open fire.

It is the colonoscopy if one is required that you need to take the formula and completely empty your bowels and watch what you eat in the days running up to it.

So it should be like a regularly appointment and doesn't take long. I hope that helps.