Please tell me your experience and tips

• 4 replies
  • 9 subscribers

First appointment with consultant. Classic Hodgkin Lymphoma. ABVD treatment in two weeks. PICC line to be fitted. Please share your experiences with this lymphoma and tips for the next few weeks. Apprehensive newbie here. Consultant was very positive about effectiveness of treatment with this type of lymphoma. 

• Hi again  and welcome across to this group.

I don’t have Hodgkin's Lymphoma but I have been on my Lymphoma journey for over 24 years so although my Lymphoma ‘type’ is different I do appreciate the challenges of this journey rather well.

My type of Non Hodgkin's Lymphoma is incurable........ but on the whole Classic Hodgkin Lymphoma is very treatable and can result in very long remission and I know many people who have never relapsed.

Lets look for some of the group members to pick up on your post. You can also look through the various posts (hit the main group name and scroll down) and as always you can hit reply and ask some questions and see if the member is looking in.

The PICC Line will make life a lot straightforward......

ABVD is one of many types of regimes available, it is widely used and very effective......... as for the journey?.... if we line up 10 people on the same treatment for the same HL we will get 10 different stories...... as the Side Effects of Treatments can be ever so different.

My great CNS initial words were “……Mike you can read all the information available and then start to catastrophise that every side effect that you have read about will happen but the reality is very often rather different….. take each day as it comes, celebrate the good days, endure the not so good day”…… and she was spot on.

i had my main chemo back in late 2013 through to April 2014 and honestly I did well during it all and this was with me having 6 cycles that had me in hospital 6 nights/5 days on my 2 IV pumps 24/7 for over 120hrs each treatment.