Terminal Squamous Cell Carcinoma Larynx

• 13 replies
  • 69 subscribers

Hi everyone, I'm new to this. I hope you're all ok and as well as you can be.

I'm 50 years old, I'm disabled in a wheelchair with very painful complex rare medical conditions. I am also a full time carer for my severely disabled wife.

I was diagnosed with Squamous Cell Carcinoma Larynx in December 2022, I was due to have a full Laryngectomy operation in January 2023. 

Unfortunately I had a severe allergic reaction to a drug they gave me during the operation, it caused anaphylactic shock. I had two heart attacks in theatre and a third heart attack in critical care, I was clinically dead for 30 minutes. The surgeon could only fit a tracheostomy, he had to abandon the rest of the surgery, he wasn't able to remove the tumour and my lymph gland in my neck. They were going to turn my life support system off, but my wife insisted they didn't, I'm so relieved she did, I woke up two days later. It was awful for my family to have to go through.

I am now no longer a candidate for surgery. I had 15 sessions of Radiotherapy in April 2023. 

The cancer is terminal. They don't know how much time I've got left, I have a camera down my nose every 12 weeks to see how big the tumour is. 

I have a peg feeding tube, I can't eat much because I choke on it. I'm very tired all the time, it's really hard caring for my wife and I'm scared not knowing how much time I've got left, my wife couldn't cope without me. I'm now trying to make the most of every

day. 

• Hi  

I am so sad to read your story. Do you have help provided by your GP and district nurse? 
    If you ring the Macmillan helpline, number at the bottom of my post, there are a number of support systems that they can help you with.There is no way you can deal with this in your own 
    Do you have family around you at all? 

Dani 

Base of tongue cancer. T2N0M0 6 weeks Radiotherapy finished January 2019