Tonsil cancer update.

• 9 replies
  • 69 subscribers

I'm totally confused now, my post biopsy discharge notes said x1 rt tonsil removed for biopsy x1 lt biopsy taken, or words to that effect, the consultant went home and the nurse said I'd had 1 tonsil removed yet I have x2 large holes equal in size in the back of my mouth with a white border around each,  this completely scared me until I saw online that it's normal , now the pain makes sense but why have two massive holes appeared 

• Mark. Phone your CNS and ask.

I put my trust in my clinicians and I knew they would try their best to save my life and I'm sure yours are doing their utmost too. Once all the biopsies scans and consults are examined by your MDT and you have a plan of action things will fall into place and you will feel better. You won't be in control (they are) but you can get through that and let them fix the problem.

Micro- analysing is simply going to drive you nuts. I knew all about my tumour because I am a vet and I understand these things but if you don't have the medical knowledge you will just frighten yourself by Googling every possible scenario. 

The waiting is rubbish but all you can do is keep busy.

You could always open a Wordpress account and write a daily blog....that gives you somewhere to vent and some modicum of control. You don't have to make it public; just use it as a diary

Onwards and forwards the job. You'll get through this

Dani 

Base of tongue cancer. T2N0M0 6 weeks Radiotherapy finished January 2019

I wrote a blog about my cancer. just click on the link below 

https://todaymycoffeetasteslikechristmasincostarica.com 

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

Community Champion badge