Embarrassing

• 4 replies
  • 25 subscribers

Good morning I have a question it's abit embarrassing but here we go if u have cervical cancer does it make u go to the toliet every hour of the day and night

Can't remember last time I slept a whole night Sleeping and it gets to the stage I'm scared to go out or to far away from home 

Thank u so much 

Jo xx

• Hi  

There is no question here that’s too embarrassing, so don’t worry about that! Sometimes it can depend on just exactly where the tumour is located, as it can press on your bladder and make you need the loo more, so that may be why. Are you talking about going for a wee?

I used to go to the loo a lot when I was first diagnosed, and was up a couple of times in the night, but I was blaming my age and it had been happening a long time for me. But I was 56 when I was diagnosed, so I think my age and a weaker bladder maybe was the case for me as my tumour at that time was lower down. 

Toilet questions can occur a lot when you have cervical cancer as it can change your loo habits, and treatment can also affect bladder and bowels, so don’t worry about asking these things. Now I don’t have my bladder I do get to sleep without ever getting up in the night which I suppose is a bonus in this cold weather! 

Were you able to enjoy a good Christmas? 

Sarah xx

Community Champion Badge

Cervical Cancer Forum

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

• My Xmas was quiet as I wasn't not feeling great and didn't get to see my family on boxing day which I was abit sad about but they understood 

Finding it hard to go out and about incase I have an accident and need the toliet ASAP which is hard because I love going out with my husband 

Plus I have noticed that it is taking its toll on him and I honestly don't know what to do about that also 

Last question can I still be intimate with my husband even though I have got this going on ??