Lipofilling Advice

• 5 replies
  • 267 subscribers

Hi, after WLE and LTAP flap surgery back in 2020, my affected breast looks a bit misshapen with a “furrow” between the flap and my breast tissue as well as too much flesh from the flap to the side such that my arm brushes against it all the time which is really annoying!  I’m meeting my breast surgeon this week to discuss liposuction of fat from the flap under my arm to reduce the volume there, as well as lipofilling the furrow.

I’d be interested in hearing from anyone who’s had this done so I’ve got some knowledge before I see the surgeon. I’m mostly concerned about the liposuction, probably from my thighs and whether having this done will cause any issues on the donor area.  I’m not keen to exchange a misshapen breast which is usually not on show, for lumpy thighs which will be on show when I do sport, swimming etc!

Also, if you’ve had it done, was this by a breast surgeon or by a plastic surgeon?

It would also be good to hear how long your recovery time was and how long it was before you could get back to walking, sport etc. And whether it’s affected having mammograms in the future.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Loffie x

• I had liposuction and lipo filling after my DEIP and it was very successful. I had fat taken from outer thighs on the first occasion and inner thighs on the second. Apart from a bit of soreness from the horrendous bruising it was fine. They do need to overfill ‘ dents’ as some of the fat fades away when transferred. Mine was done by the plastic surgeon. xxxx

• Thanks for your reply. Really pleased to hear that your lipofilling was successful. Did you have to wear any special bra during your recovery, or compression wear on your thighs?

Loffie x

• Hi, I wore a post-op compression bra and some tight cycling shorts to help bruising on thigh area. It did help.xxxx

• Hi,