Right axillary node clearance

• 5 replies
  • 481 subscribers

Thankyou so much for allowing me to this group ! This is my first time posting ! I am an active 64 year old !

I had Right axillary node clearance on the 7th August 2024 after finding cancer associated with breast cancer 18 years ago ( which resulted in mastectomy and reconstruction) were my scar is under my arm it’s still lumpy and swollen after 5 weeks ! Most of the swelling went down by week 3 ! The scar is dry and not hot so I don’t think it’s infected ! Is this normal ! I’m seeing oncologist on Tuesday to discuss chemo ! I have to have radio therapy then hormone blocking tablets and bone infusions ! I thought I’d had my share of cancer 18 years ago but cancer had other ideas ! I have really bad anxiety every time I see any medical professions and I’m already getting scared for Tuesday !

• Hi Sweatpen,

Whilst I had a lumpectomy and not mastectomy I know everyone heals at different times. It may just be taking its time to heal. If it's not hor or painful hopefully it's just the healing process.

Cancer has a mind of it's own and our anxiety goes wild whilst waiting for results answers and treatment plans.

I too am having chemo just now to be followed by radiotherapy and hormone suppressants.

You overcame cancer once so you have the strength to do it again. Once you have a clear treatment plan hopefully some of your anxiety will ease.

Please use the macmillan nurses and cancer care they are great supports as well as this forum. 

I wish you well with your recovery xx

• Thankyou so much missy molly ! I hope your feeling ok with your chemo lots of love to you