I'm new here: "Hello"

• 11 replies
  • 483 subscribers

Hello all. This is so painful - I never thought I'd be back on these forums again Cry.

I've just been given a "USC" referal to my local hospital breast care unit. Six years ago I watched my wife die from cancer.

In March 2018 my wife of 21 years was diagnosed with Stage 4 pancreatic cancer, with a prognosis of six months of life, We were both 59 years old, I was a retired teacher and she had just started an undergraduate degree in Fine Art. We discussed and rejected palliative treatment: we both wanted quality of life rather than quantity. During this time I discovered these forums on this site and found them so supportive and helpful for both of us. In September she died in a hospice. I know I'm not supposed to say this, but it was a horrible, distressing and paiful death.

Here I am, six months later, a widower living alone, but close to my son (my only child) and his young family. About four months ago I developed a tenderness and soreness in my right breast, but no lump. I did the usual male thing and ignored it - it will go away. But it didn't and I started to hear my wife telling me to go to the doctor's. I got a GP appointment about a month ago, followed by an ultrasound scan. I could see the screen and when the operator hit the sore bit I went "ouch". She focused on that area and a black "hole" appeared in the centre of the screen surrounded by a good representatation of body tissue. It didn't look good to me. The operative told me in no uncertain terms if I hadn't heard from my GP within ten days I must, must, phone them.