Diagnosed today…

• 6 replies
  • 486 subscribers

Just come to say hi.

I had my formal breast cancer diagnosis today although was expecting it (who has an half hour appointment booked with a breast surgeon when it’s good news eh?). And the weird thing is, I feel much more positive now I know for sure than I have done while waiting.

I am a complete control freak, so knowing, and being able to make choices, has put me firmly back into the driving seat. I have taken back control.

I’d like to ask a question please. I’m a manager, with a staff of around 70. Some of whom have recently gone through (and come out the other side) breast cancer. It will be difficult but not impossible to explain away the time off after surgery without telling them the whole thing. I want to be honest and open with them, but a) I don’t want their pity b) I don’t want them to second guess me as a manager c) I don’t want to rake up the tough experiences they’ve had.

Do I tell them or not? (I’ve told the business owners and they are very supportive).

Thanks for any lived advice!

• Go with your gut.  When I was diagnosed I told immediate family and friends and also work bosses.i couldn't get my head around it so never told anyone else at work until about 4 weeks later.  I went in for a welfare check and the Chinese whispers were ten fold.  One said oh and to think you were told it was benign I went no it was always been cancer. They then continued to say how it must have been a shock from it being benign to cancer.  I had to further explain that I always had cancer but it had went in my lymph nodes which previously I had been told it wasn't.  Just a wee think as folk will believe what they want and still tell you you are wrong. 

Everyone else has been so supportive mind you.  I feel i do not have the strength to go back to.work just yet.