Newly diagnosed, should I enter a study ?

• 6 replies
  • 483 subscribers

Hello all, I am very recently diagnosed with breast cancer and this is my first time talking to a support group. In brief this is my story-

Following a recent call back from a mammogram I was told they had found suspicious findings in both breasts, I had reported a lump on my right side only. I received further scans and mammograms and had biopsies taken from both sides at this appointment. A week later, last Fi, I went back for my results- I have a stage 2 Invasive Ductal Carcinomo breast cancer on my right side, luckily the left biopsy came back clear and they don't think it has spread to my lymph nodes. Because my tumor is oestrogen receptive and they don't feel I need any choemo at this stage I have been asked if I would be prepared to take part in a study looking at how effective the use of endocrine treatment would be if used for 6 months prior to surgery in shrinking tumours.  Depending on which side of the study I am randomly selected to be in this could mean postponing surgery for around 6 months, I would be monitored during this time. I really don't know what to do so was wondering if anyone here had had a similar experience?

I am back at the hospital on Thurs to discuss what I wish to do. My options are to enter the study or go straight to a  surgery ootion which would involve sentinel lymph node biopsies and a wide local excision, lumpectomy.

Thanks in advance to anyone taking time to read this.

An update to my post, after a lot of duscussion and thought I decided to enter the trial. I was randomised to the surgery arm and was immediately prescribed Letrozole, which I started on Sat, and I have been given a surgery date - 3 weeks tomorrow 18th March. All seems very real now and totally terrifying as only had my diagnosis for a little over a week. 

• Hi Kat1