Things people say…

• 13 replies
  • 462 subscribers

Hi everyone 

This is my first time in a cancer forum of any kind. It seems like a friendly and supportive place.

There have been lots of ‘firsts’ for me recently. Until my breast cancer diagnosis at the beginning of June, I had never had surgery or spent time in hospital. Now I’ve had surgery and am healing well. The next step is chemotherapy, which will start as soon as I receive the date. It’s all very new and strange.

Somewhat stranger to me, is hearing the odd things that people say. The majority of my friends, family and colleagues have been incredibly supportive and have helped me feel so loved and cared for. A few have said unhelpful things – always with the best intentions and in the spirit of caring for me – and I would like to share some of them here, as I’m pretty sure most of us have heard at least one of these statements or had one of these questions…

It’s helpful for me to post these. I hope it’s helpful for some others to read. Please feel free to add your own, as I’m curious to know your experiences too!

Thank you for reading Blush 

THINGS PEOPLE HAVE SAID TO ME SINCE LEARNING I HAVE BREAST CANCER:

‘Get well soon!’

‘At least it's not cervical cancer' (right after initial diagnosis, before I even knew what stage my breast cancer was...)

'Sugar feeds cancer, you know.'

'X had much worse cancer than you, she was done for. Now she's got the breasts she's always wanted and has never looked more beautiful.'

'You have to have chemo? Oh (starts crying), you'll lose your hair (cries more).'

'If you want to talk to X, I'm sure she would be happy to talk with you about her cancer (then goes on to tell me ALL about X's cancer experience without drawing breath to ask me how I might be feeling or even giving me a chance to say 'Thank you, that's very kind, but no.') *X had a different cancer, which was clearly considered so much worse than mine...