In middle of staging scans

• 7 replies
  • 461 subscribers

Hi Everyone, I’m new here. I was diagnosed with at least locally advanced breast cancer last month, bone scan is clear but have my CT scan on Saturday. I have my first oncology meeting on Tuesday so j hope I’ll be starting my chemo soon. I have increasing pain in my arm from cancerous lymph nodes and I think trapped lymph. Has anyone else had their arm scanned to see if the lymph nearer the elbow are affected and also any tips about questions I should ask on Tuesday please? I work in a school so am unsure about how sensible I need to be re infection etc. thanks in advance Xx 

• Hi Rachie I haven’t started treatment yet but wishing you loads of luck with your treatment plan x

• Hi 

I can't help you regarding your arm scan but I do work in a school. I was told I wouldn't be able to work due to the high risk of infection from the children (I work in an Infant school). I was issued with sick/fit notes by my GP.

Take care

Claire

• Hi Claire,

Thank you so much for your post, I’d hoped that I might make it in for a few weeks in between treatments but those around me thought I was maybe wishful thinking. I’ll have a chat with SLT before half term to say I could possibly get the same news on Tuesday. Thank you as I find it easier talking with them face to face and they’ve been really kind to me. 
    Take care Xx