Rectal Cancer

• 5 replies
  • 161 subscribers

Hello, this is my first time of posting.

I was diagnosed with rectal cancer 22 January 2022 followed by long term chemoradiotherapy starting in March 2022.  I underwent surgery (anterior resection) in September 2022 and now have stoma. 

I have been offered the chance to have a stoma reversal and need to make a decision around  September this year however, I have been told that there is a risk of being left with incontinence the thought of which has left me unsure as to whether I should go ahead with it.  I did experience some degree of incontinence prior to starting treatment,  in eighteen months I have had no problems with my stoma.

I would appreciate some feedback from those ostomates who have gone through a reversal.

Thank you.

• Hi Michael C24

This is a dilemma and one that I was very concerned with and found lots of support in the Stoma support group in the link below 

Living well with a stoma reversal or LARS 

I wasn’t pressured by my team as they were overwhelmed with patients before me  But after lots more f research and reassurance free my medics that I would have support if I was struggling I decided to go for it  

Hope this helps 

Ann
     ‍Art

• Sorry about typos. The edit tab disappeared before I had chance to sort out my errors 

Ann
     ‍Art

• Hi  Yes it’s a tricky decision as the results cannot be guaranteed beforehand. As Ann says there’s lots of info on that other board. I had a very active stoma so was glad to get it reversed but the early days were quite tough. You will probably have to get used to a new ‘normal’ and even now, 7 years down the line I can have good and not so good days. Having said that I eat and drink anything I want and accept that after a Chinese and a few beers then I will have a few rapid trips to the toilet.