Hi - newbie

• 5 replies
  • 178 subscribers

Hi, im new to all this.

Had a colonoscopy on Friday where the surgeon confirmed a malignancy. 

It's a difficulty placed tumour and crosses two different cell types so biopsy will confirm which type. 

I am now waiting on an MRI.

I live on a small remote island so all treatments and tests are off island so raises its own challenges with weather and I also have 2 young boys with no support here.

So I'm all a bit at sea right now...know I have cancer but little other information and that's the hard bit as I am a big picture kind of girl.

Cancel

Flag to moderator

• Hi Biky, a scroll through the posts here and you will see a lot of people feel just like you at this stage of their journey. You will also see a lot them feel ‘better’ once they start getting more information about their condition. You can also talk to support workers at MacMillan, which might be helpful given your circumstances and geography.

I won’t say the more you know the easier it gets but it can help with understanding and acceptance of where you are now. Cancer also doesn’t need to define your life. Again, there are plenty of posts from people enjoying life whilst living with cancer.

All the very best.

Tom

• Hi Biky I’m at the same stage as you just waiting for results of CT scan. It’s the waiting that gets to me as I have a very overactive mind! I’ve found this forum really helpful and the overwhelming advice is stop googling, which I am trying to do. My way of coping is by telling myself I’m in the system now and I have to try to be patient. I’m happy to chat whenever you feel the need. Take care of yourself.