Hello, new here!

• 6 replies
  • 164 subscribers

Hi Everyone,

its my first time here, and I just wanted to say hello with the hopes of reaching out to people who might be going through a similar thing to me. 

I had a rectal polyp, which was assumed to be benign removed last month, which turned out to be malignant. Things have been a bit of a whirlwind since then, I had the initial diagnostic tests, which luckily showed no spread. Treatment options then seemed to be a choice between “watch and wait” (as they weren’t sure if the whole tumour was excised when the poly was removed), TEMs procedure to remove the scar from the poly site, or APER which would have left me with a permanent colostomy. We (I was involved) decided on the TEMs which I had in Saturday. I won’t get the histology results for a couple of weeks, so back in the limbo of waiting for test results now, but the surgeon seems fairly confident that there’s no cancer left. 

This has all happened so quickly, and I admit that I’m feeling really anxious and like my head is spinning. I have a 2 year old, and am only 41, the thought of having a permanent colostomy is utterly unbearable to me, though it’s not coming to that at the moment thankfully. 

I’m not sure what I’m asking all of you! Has anyone had similar experience and could tell me what to expect now? My biggest fear is that the cancer isn’t all gone, or that it comes back, and I don’t know where we’d go if that happened, therapies or the permanent colostomy option? My surgeon is very good, but his bedside manner leaves a bit to be desired, and he doesn’t offer me much reassurance! Doesn’t anyone have any mechanisms for coping with the fear and anxiety, especially when you have a toddler who you can’t fall apart in front of?

I’m really grateful to have found this group, and would love to chat with anyone who can find the time. 

Thanks, best and safe wishes to you al Xxx