2ww after positive FIT

• 5 replies
  • 132 subscribers

Hello there,

This is my first time posting.

A few weeks ago I requested an appointment with my GP as I was suffering heart palpitations, extreme weight loss (not necessarily intentional) but I’ve not step foot in a gym and I’ve lost an incredible amount of weight in the last two years, 9 stone in total - relationship breakdown and I did put on a lot of weight during Covid and pregnancy with my youngest. I have a lump and pain in my LIF. 
I left the appointment with a referral for bowel cancer screening.

on Wednesday morning I had an ultrasound and x-ray, ultrasound came back clear and she said the lump and pain could be from my ectopic pregnancy a few years ago and scar tissue from the fallopians tube removal and now I’ve lost weight I’m just able to feel it more. X-ray results still pending and waiting for a CT scan appointment.

positive FIT test so I’m on a 2ww for a colonoscopy. FIT test was 10.9 so only slightly over but I’m still however absolutely petrified. I’ve also got protein in my urine +1 so not too high but it was also that 3 months ago and GP doesn’t seem to be bothered about that? They also didn’t even take my bloods or urine until I requested it earlier this week, which I find insane. Still haven’t got bloods done as there are no appointments?! How can you be on a 2ww and not have a blood test?

I’m 31 have two young children (2 and 5) the anxiety is eating me alive. No history of BC in family that I know of or any C for that matter. 

there has been mucus and blood in my stools but very sporadic over the months and barely noticeable. I have pain in my abdomen which sometimes goes into my legs. 
decreased appetite but I am trying so hard to eat more. I also don’t know if the anxiety is making me imagine these symptoms.

feel like I’m going insane and driving my friends and family mad so here I am. 

the waiting game is horrendous isn’t it? 

thank you x