Results of Colonoscopy

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 31 replies
  • 134 subscribers

Hi, a newbie here, have just had a colonoscopy 2 days ago & the results were  not what I was expecting ... seems I have a malignancy in my sigmoid colon , several biopsies were taken at the time so I guess it's a waiting game for results, a C.T. scan etc; etc;  I will be treated at Lincoln County Hospital.

I am a bit shell shocked at the moment & when being seen with results after colonoscopy felt as if she was talking to someone else not me. It's a good job my husband was sat with me to ask some questions , still having a job taking it in.....

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi Gemcollector,

I had a sigmoid tumour diagnosed by a colonoscopy on December 7th last year. Mind you I am 77 and a bit so the shock wasn't so bad as I've had a real good run. My consultant sat me down and told me all the likely outcomes...I jokingly told him I wasn't going for any of the worst scenarios and kept a very positive, optimistic outlook. That attitude really helped me...I am absolutely sure of that.

He said the tumour was between 6-8cm but the CT scan seemed to show it hadn't grown through the bowel wall and it had not spread to the major organs but to be on the safe side he said he would take the whole thing out plus the lymph nodes around it.

I went in to Peterborough City Hospital on 12th February to be "emptied" and had the operation by keyhole surgery at about 9.30 the following morning.