Scared stiff

• 6 replies
  • 100 subscribers

Hi all, I am 2 weeks post AP resection and stoma (was told by GP for over a year that I had piles, no FIT test done). I feel really good, managing stoma well but just had a call to say 18 out of 19 lymph nodes removed were cancerous. I’m totally in shock. I’ve been a nurse fort 42 years, a lot of it with MacMillan, but the thought of 8 cycles of CAPOX is making me want to say no.

The last 24 months I have lost my 30 year old son, both parents, 2 close friends, 2 Aunts and an Uncle. I’ve just turned 60 and my 2 other grown kids, both nurses don’t need yet more worry. Quality over quantity?

• Hi  and a warm welcome to the bowel board. I’m so sorry to hear of your losses over the last 2 years and then the added diagnosis for yourself.

I’ll be honest - 18 out of 19 lymph nodes is a lot and I’m struggling to understand why you would refuse chemo? Capox can be tough but it’s also doable as many of us on here have proved. Yes there can be a lot of side effects but there are also a lot of pills and potions to combat them. I had 8 fortnightly cycles of Capox - the dosage was reduced after 3 cycles due to low white cell count and then the oxaliplatin was stopped after 6 due to a numb tongue. I had a further 2 cycles on capecitabine only and was stopped before the final one due to peripheral neuropathy in my feet. I worked part-time in an office throughout apart from my iv day. 
    You say you don’t want your kids to have more worry but they’ll still worry if you don’t have the chemo? 
    If there’s a particular aspect of Capox that you’re worried about then please ask and we’ll give you honest answers from experience.

Hope my post hasn’t come over harsh - that’s honestly not my intention - but I remember my friend saying to ‘throw everything they offer you at it’ and it seems to have worked so far.

Take care

Karen x

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm