EMVI advice HELP please!

• 4 replies
  • 93 subscribers

My 38yo husband had a LAR surgery on the 2nd Feb with no stoma (something he said he could not mentally handle) , unfortunately the after care was atrocious resulting in them letting him out a week later and back in after 9 hours in an ambulance with 2 1/2 litres of urine retention. 

On the 13th March we found he had sepsis and he made the life changing decision to have a permanent colostomy which he is doing amazing with. He’s doing more than before infact.

Pathology showed a moderate/ well differentiated cancer. Clear margin and 0/15 lymph nodes involved but EMVI + … no indication of how far in these cells where.

Oncologist said chemo would give 2-3% reduction in chance of recurrence and the long list of side effects so my husband said no. Surgeon also agreed and said ‘it’s of no statistical benefit’. My major issue is my husbands never had an abnormal CEA maker at all so bloods aren’t great to an indication (although I will be asking our GP to do full bloods) but he now doesn’t get a scan for a year?!

when I have looked into EMVI it’s awful! So why doesn’t that reflect with the professionals views? Also I’m yet to hear of anyone with EMVI who’s had no chemo and no spread or recurrence so this worries me even more! 

• Hi  I’m not medically trained but from posts on here it generally seems that people who are EMVI positive are offered chemo in the form of capecitabine tablets that are a lot better tolerated than the chemos with oxaliplatin. Did the oncologist say which chemo he would be offered? All chemos have a lot of side effects but it would be unlucky for your husband to get every single one?