Braf Mutation

• 4 replies
  • 83 subscribers

Hello everyone.  This is my first post. My mum was diagnosed with advanced colorectal cancer with non-resectable hepatic metastases and last week we were told that her cancer carries the braf mutation.  When I enquired with the oncologist about immunotherapy  I was told I was getting ahead of myself and they must first see how the mets respond to a FOLFIRI chemo regimen first.  I would like to prefix what I am about to say with I am not a doctor.  I am an experienced veterinary surgeon and credit myself with an understanding of staging and treatment as well as the ability to read peer-reviewed literature and critically appraise it.   I know this intellectualisation is my way of coping with not having any control but it is the only way I can get my head around what is happening.  When I asked about her CEA levels I was told they don't measure that anymore. There have been failings and miscommunication about my mother's treatment every step of the way, which is now in the hands of PALS thankfully (including my being told that her cancer isn't curative by a nurse 1 week before my mum was told).  It is my understanding that a triple combination therapy with encorafenib, binimetinib and cetuximab has been shown to significantly improve survival times for patients with this type of cancer, as a result of the BEACON trial and that this was approved for use on the NHS back in November.  I am bewildered and confused as to why this hasn't been discussed with us.  The plan is currently FOLFIRI "indefinitely" for as long as she tolerates it and a repeat scan in 2-3 months maybe.