Hi. A Canadian here.

• 3 replies
  • 49 subscribers

Just found this site and have been reading some posts which are truly helpful in terms of creams, apparatus, etc.

I’m starting 7 weeks radiation tomorrow (April 22) with four days of chemo to start and then another four days chemo in the fifth week of radiation.  Squamous cell anal cancer.  
I’m hoping to be able to continue to work through my treatments - I can do flexi-hours as I work as a graphic artist - but would like to hear from anyone who also tried to work through treatment.  Am I being overly optimistic?

• Hello Sloopy

A warm welcome to our little corner though I am so sorry you had to find yourself here.  But this forum helped me through some quite dark days and I hope it will help you too.

I am retired and don't have to work.  However, I think I would have struggled, particularly in the latter stages of treatment when the side effects were kicking in, not least the fatigue.  The body is using all its energy repairing itself after a very taxing treatment and I used to get home and sink into bed.  But, and I must stress this, not everyone has the same side effects and others were able to at least do some work.  I would say prepare for the worst and you might be pleasantly surprised.  In the meantime stock up on easy food and if you have a support network to help out with shopping, car lifts to the hospital so much the better.  If you have read some of the previous posts you will know about the Sitzbath, a bidet that sits on the loo and is invaluable for soothing (or bowel movements under water), loose cotton underwear and should you need opioid painkillers (which cause constipation), stool softeners to take alongside.  It is always a really fraught time in the lead-up to treatment and I am sure you are relieved that it is starting.

And we are here to offer support too, should you need it.

Best of luck tomorrow.

Irene xx

• Hi Sloopy,