Hpv and anal cancer

• 7 replies
  • 57 subscribers

I have been bleeding when I poo for about 2 years, I thought I was piles due to pregnancy and it would go away but hasn’t. It’s not sore or itchy. I have been to the doctor and have tried cream and suppositories but still bleeding. I have been referred to the surgeon at the hospital and my appointment is tomorrow.

i have been googling (which I know I shouldn’t) and discovered that Hpv causes anal cancer and I have been Hpv positive in my last 2 smears (no cell changes). Obviously that’s vaginal testing so now I am worried that me having Hpv and the bleeding are related and the Hpv may have caused anal cancer. I also have bowels changes, mucas sometimes, diahorrea, etc.

does anyone have any similar experiences?

thanks

• Hello QuizLover

I am so sorry you have this worry hanging over your head (Doctor Google has a lot to answer for) and I don't have experience of this. There are others on here with more knowledge than me and I am sure they will pick up on this thread.  However, in the meantime, I just wanted to wish you well at your appointment tomorrow, I am keeping everything crossed that your bleeding is nothing to worry about, please let us know how you get on, I will be thinking of you.

Irene xx

• Hello Quizlover, the unknown is very worrying isn’t it and Google has a lot to answer for sometimes. It’s great you are going to have some further tests done to find out what the problem is. Apparently HPV is in much of the population that have been sexually active and I think it’s two particular strains that are the cause of anal cancer. The not knowing is the hardest thing and fingers crossed it’s just piles. Keep in touch 

• Thank you for your kind words. I have to go back for a colonoscopy so I need to wait for the appointment to come in the post. Hopefully it won’t take too long xx

• Hi  ,