Weakness in pelvic muscles after 5400rads radiation therapy

• 3 replies
  • 58 subscribers

Hi, I’m new to this group. I’m a retired physician and live in Las Vegas, NV, USA. I was diagnosed with stage 4 anal cancer in 10/21 and completed chemo with 5FU and cisplat and radiation therapy as above 2/4/22. I’m exercising, mainly by walking 1-2times daily, but it’s definitely slow going. I’m also now on Opdivo, an immune stimulant by infusion which activates my T cells to kill any errant cancer cells. It’s very expensive, but Medicare insurance pays for it. It’s caused most of my hair to fall out. My next PET scans are scheduled for May 2022 so I don’t know if the cancer is gone yet. 
I do have strong family support as well as friends. My significant other is a working physician and he has stood by me from diagnosis to present. He has been understanding about sexual issues which we are working on. 
Right now I’d like to know how others are managing exercise after pelvic irradiation.  Being so weak is awful!

1. Hi there. I finished my course of chemo/radiotherapy for anal cancer on 22/12/21. Today I managed a 9k run. ( albeit very slowly). I could barely walk 100 yds between Christmas and New Year and it has taken a while to build up both my stamina and strength . But I have got there with the help of a personal trainer who has given me conditioning exercises. I still have quite a bit of hip pain, and things seize up if I don’t move, but SLOWLY building the exercise has really helped, along with lots of stretches. So I would say if you only finished treatment on 2/4/22 it is early days yet, be kind to yourself and be patient. 
      Also, have you had your bloods checked lately ( physician heal thyself! ) as if you are anaemic etc post treatment that won’t help. I needed B12 and D3 supplements as well as iron . 
      Hope that helps.
  • Hey Dr Socks