Back pain

• 7 replies
  • 49 subscribers

Hello I am new to the blog and have found it very informative. I was diagnosed with rectal and vagina cancers earlier this year. They are different cancers so have 2 consultants. They decided to treat them at the same time, and a month ago I completed 5 sessions of chemotherapy and 7 weeks of daily radiotherapy. I have managed to cope if with  the rectal issues, but now have awful backache, Which I think the radiotherapy has caused.  I was wondering if anyone has been affected by this.  I have kept thinking it would get easier but a month later is awful.  I am seeing my oncologist on Monday so will discuss it with her.

• Hi ,

Firstly I’d like to welcome you to the Macmillan online community although I’m sorry you’ve had the need to find us. I’m also sorry to hear of your diagnosis’s, how incredibly unlucky to be diagnosed with 2 separate cancers at the same time! It’s a stressful time but good that both were able to be treated together.