Anal cancer - Newly diagnosed T2N1M0 40 years old!!

• 15 replies
  • 41 subscribers

Hi

im new here to all this, even just making an account on here doesn’t feel real.

i am newly diagnosed, around 2 weeks ago with T2N1M0 anal cancer, i am 40 years old.

i am going for my planning radiotherapy scan today so they can mark me up, hopefully starting my combination of 28 days of oral chemo and radiation therapy on 1st July. 

I have to be fair and give credit where it’s due, the trust who found my cancer and who are looking after me have been so swift and good I’m very impressed.

now the hard part…

I am just about coming to terms with this and hopefully that I do my treatment and this will be it but so worried about the burns and all the stuff I’ve read. 

all of your threads have been so helpful and I’m prepared as much as I can be I think… thanks to you all Pray tone1

I am also a nurse and work with cancer patients and chemo, I ended up sitting two chairs away from one of my patients recently at an appointment which just put things into perspective for me.

( he didn’t see me thankfully) but where is the line of confidentiality for things like this… in the same treatment areas. It’s very difficult.

anyway I am at the start of my journey and I feel everyone else is older than me, am I in a minority of younger patients? 

• Hi  

welcome to the group no of us want to be part of . Im 48 so a little older than you and have recently been diagnosed Im slightly behind were you are just had my PET scan so waiting to meet the team who will tell me full details and my plan.

I hope your day goes well , all we can can do is take each day as it comes. 

please let us know how you get on , and remember we are all different so we dont know what side effects we will get. 

there is lots of good advice from this group on dealing with side effects should they happen.

big hugs 

Emma 

• Hi AsLu,