Awaiting diagnosis - how to cope?

• 3 replies
  • 39 subscribers

Hi,

I hope it’s ok to post here, as I don’t actually have a diagnosis yet but I’m really struggling to cope and needed somewhere to turn.

I had a colonoscopy last week for rectal bleeding and fecal calprotectin >2000. Everyone was expecting that I had ulcerative colitis, but I actually have a large mass in my rectum. The doctor tried to be reassuring, said his money would be on a complex polyp but could also be cancer. However I can’t get my head around how a polyp could cause such a high calprotectin, and so am 100% convinced it’s cancer.

i just need the diagnosis now. What do I do while I wait?! I’m currently laid in bed reading papers about calprotectin and bowel cancer because I’m sure that higher must be worse, and it’s really not helping. I’m 38, female, have 3 young children. Oh and I’m a doctor, in a completely different field, so I’m a terrible patient. How do I stop myself fixating and help myself go to sleep?! Thank you.

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the Community but I am sorry to hear about your ongoing concerns. Navigating a diagnosis journey can indeed be such a stressful and challenging time.

I was diagnosed way back in 1999 with a very rare incurable Non Hodgkins Lymphoma and have had years of treatment being all the way to stage 4 and back……. but over these years I have also been investigated for ‘other’ possible cancers. 

Way back in 2012 one of my yearly CTs showed that I had Asbestosis but a lung biopsy confirmed that I did not have Mesothelioma. This has reminded stable to this day so it is no longer checked.

At the start of last year I had a Colonoscopy due to a positive FIT test….. this was all checked out and nothing was found that related to Bowel Cancer…… but my Prostate was enlarged so had a biopsy and again nothing was found.