No oven

• 8 replies
  • 42 subscribers

Hi, I'm new to this so sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place. I'm 40 years old and I was recently diagnosed with stage 3 cervical cancer, and have 2 children at home. 14 and 10. Today my oven has broken and is not fixable, the bottom has a hole burnt through it. My son has an eating disorder (ARFID) and will only eat certain foods. I'm currently off work sick and fighting for sick pay and universal credit are still sorting out LCWRA. Does anyone know where I can get help with an oven? Ive tried universal credit and a discretionary payment from the council and neither will help. Any ideas welcomed. 

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the online community which I hope you'll find is both an informative and supportive place to be.

I've found this information for you from Macmillan about benefits and financial support. Have a look through it and also have a look at this to see if you qualify for a one off Macmillan grant.

If you can't find what you're looking for, or you're not sure if you qualify, then you could give the Macmillan Support Line a call on 0808 808 0000 and speak to one of the welfare rights team. They're available every day from 8am to 8pm so you could give them a ring this evening.

Community Champion Badge

"Never regret a day in your life, good days give you happiness, bad days give you experience"

• Thank you. I got the Macmillan grant when I was diagnosed. It was £100 at the time and I used to do a food shop. I'm not entitled to another but thank you so much. 

• Ok, but you could still give the Support Line a call to see if they know of any benefits you might be entitled to.

((hugs))

Community Champion Badge

"Never regret a day in your life, good days give you happiness, bad days give you experience"