Kidney cancer with mets to bowel and liver

• 1 reply
  • 36 subscribers

Hi I’m new to this I’ve been reading the posts here for support mostly as I just can’t get my head around what has happened to us it’s so shocking and even more so when I see how many people are in the same shocking boat trying to cope with what is going on so I felt like I needed to write down our story

my husband went to the Dr 28th February as he had a swollen testicle the Dr thought infection so gave antibiotics after 2 weeks on antibiotics no change and as we were going on holiday thought we better check if he needed more antibiotics as there had been no change so the Dr said no we’ll organise a scan after your holiday.

Day 3 of our holiday and my husband is struggling to eat or drink very much feeling very full very quickly so was like this until we got home

We contacted the Dr he thought maybe gastric or bacterial infection so bloods taken had an ultrasound of his testicle which showed no cancer swelling was due to fluid

back to the Dr still not eating or drinking much so Dr books him in for a CT scan all the time he is getting thinner and weaker 

26th April CT Scan

29th April call from Dr to go in for the results as they are not good a large mass on his Kidney spreading towards the bowel and Liver urgent refer to ARI

1st May meeting with Urologist told it is so advanced there is only 2 options Do Nothing not really an option we were thinking then possibly a biopsy and maybe targeted treatment to try to slow down the spread of cancer in the liver to be decided by Multi Disciplinary Team

Shocked Horrified Scared Disbelief all the words you can think of 

A week later the MDT decided that it would not be in his interests to do the biopsy and so here we are treating any symptoms and Palliative care

we are getting support from the District Nurses and MacMillan nurse and lots of support from friends and family I think we are so lucky to have them