Help advice for my grandad & family

• 4 replies
  • 53 subscribers

Hi, I'm new to this and I would really appreciate any advice or just some support please for me and my family but mainly my grandad as he is the one going through this. 

My grandad is 79 years old. 8 years ago he was diagnosed with prostate cancer. We thought this was cured but has later come back as secondary and has now spread into his bones, this is now terminal.

He was receiving chemotherapy to hopefully slow the spread down. This was working and his psa levels did decline, they have now rapidly increased again and his chemo has been stopped as they feel it is not beneficial anymore. 

His previous scan showed that the cancer was in a few of his ribs, sternum, hips and legs and also the lining of his lungs. Since this scan he has gotten worse and has very little energy and spends a lot of time in bed as he is in pain but also struggles to breath and is very out of breath. He has been for another scan and we are waiting for the results but i believe it has progressed more into his bones and also has gotten through the lining of his lungs.

He has been prescribed morphine in liquid and tablet form but refuses to take these as he says he doesn't need it and he's not that bad. The family knows he's trying to mask the pain and is trying to keep strong but we also don't want him to be in pain and would rather he accepted the help. We have asked if he'd like to speak to anybody about this as he is really depressed and has actually cried over how he feels and the pain but he still won't take painkillers or speak to professionals.

He is a very proud man and I know he doesn't want the family to see him deteriorating and seeing him in pain. Maybe some advice or people who have experienced this to give any wise words or advice so i can try and show him he isn't alone would help.