Travelling

• 7 replies
  • 37 subscribers

Hi everyone, I’m new to this online group community.

First, Happy New Year to you all!

I would like to have a question regarding travelling. I’m finding it difficult to get travel insurance, as long as I tell the insurance company that I have cancer they don’t want to cover me for my travels. Can someone recommend me a company that would insure me without an extremely high premium? Can I get insurance just for one travel? Any specific company who would insure with special circumstances like having cancer? Many thanks in advance

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the online community

Unfortunately, as you've found, it can be more difficult to find reasonably priced travel insurance when you've had a cancer diagnosis so can I recommend that you join us over in the travel insurance group where you'll find recommendations from others who have been successful. Once you've joined look for the thread called 'recommended travel insurance' as this is where the majority of recommendations are.

Most people say that it's best to phone the insurance companies rather than try and do online quotes as often at the end of the online quote it will tell you to phone the company and you'll then have to go through all the information again. Also, sometimes the broker can refer to the underwriters to see if they would provide cover when an online quote might just give you a straight refusal. 

Personally I've used goodtogoinsurance.com and payingtoomuch.com and found that they were able to cover my cancer diagnoses.

I hope this helps

Community Champion Badge

"Never regret a day in your life, good days give you happiness, bad days give you experience"

• Thank you latchbrook for your quick reply. It helps me to get a better understanding of what and how to do regarding this situation.
    It is quite sad, once we’ve got a cancer diagnosis nobody cares about us anymore, nevertheless to dealing with the diagnosis itself is difficult enough.