Newbie here and need to vent

• 2 replies
  • 36 subscribers

My mother in law was diagnosed with liver (not sure where else as she didn't want any investigation work) cancer, she has recently been fitted with a driver.

I need to vent as my brother in law is useless. I mean I understand it's hard to help look after his mother so I do most of the care work myself, my partner helps where he can even helping me change her, but all I ask of my brother in law is simple things like make sure she has clean and dry nighties. The nurses came out a little while ago as the driver was beeping and I asked if they could give me a hand to change her, in all fairness they done it all as always without a moan, but my brother in law had washed the nighties 2 days ago and they were sat wet in a basket. It's not hard to make sure that she has clean dry nighties or bedding is it? 

Can I ask how others cope? It looks like we will have to move in as well now as I just don't think he is looking after her during the night, I leave about 10/11 and I'm back by 6/7 he says he has it all in hand but I don't think he does. 

Sorry to rant on my first post. Thank you for reading

• Hi  and welcome to the Macmillan Community but so sorry to hear about your mother in laws diagnosis and the challenges you are dealing with.

A cancer diagnosis like this in the family can be such a challenging and stressful time. I have cancer so I am on the other side of the fence but getting support from others who are dealing with the ‘exact same' support challenges can help a lot.