New to the online community

• 4 replies
  • 37 subscribers

Hello my name is Cath and I am new to the online community. Just a few days ago after having some tests for what I believed was IBS, I was called into my GP. I was informed that the tests had indicated that in all probability I had bowel cancer. I just sat there heard this but walked away without having time to discuss this or ask questions as my time slot was for only ten minutes.

After sitting at home crying for quite awhile I decided to ring my grown up daughters but was shocked at their reaction. I was told not to "over think" and not to worry until I found out for definite. My husband is away in Spain but is getting an early flight back as emotionally I have to admit I am really struggling. I watched my Nan die from bowel cancer and feel as though I have a death sentence hanging over my head.

I wondered if anyone else had experienced difficulty talking to their children and also any advice on what and how to cope with the next part of tests, as I don't know anything apart from I need another colonoscopy as my scan had shown thickening in my bowel. Basically I am scared beyond belief and any advice would be more than welcome. Thank you. 

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the online community which I hope you'll find is both an informative and supportive place to be.

I'm sorry to read that after performing some tests your GP believes you have bowel cancer and it's natural to feel as you do.

The online community is divided up into different support groups so I'm going to recommend that you join the bowel cancer group as that will give you the chance to connect directly with others who can tell you what will happen next.

To join, just click on the link I've created and, once you've joined, you can start a new post in the same way as you did here and join in with existing conversations by clicking on 'reply'.