Chemo backlash

• 9 replies
  • 21 subscribers

Hi all

Had a rough week after chemo last Friday, 2nd cycle of 6, had 5 sessions of radio at beginning of June. 

Does chemo affect anyone else like this - awful jittery feeling in chest, can't find a resting place, icy cold feet, 

Been checked out by chemo nurses this morning - thrush from one end to the other, cystitis, diarrhoea, nappy rash with intense itching/burning, fatigue,

Has anyone else experienced these delights. I think its mostly caused by the chemo but with radio effects mixed in. I'm still a newbie to treatment so please excuse my naivety.

1. Amanda x
  • Hi sorry to hear you are having side effects I was told everyone is an individual with treatments some have had side effects while some don't have any but with you having radio mixed in you might be having a bit of a clash keep your medical team informed they will be monitoring you hope you feel better soon xxx

Flippen
  • Can't answer your questions as I've only had chemo, no radio. Though the cold feet fit with my experience of chemo, as do the diarrhoea and fatigue. I hope that you find something to relieve your symptoms.

Best wishes 

Sarah 

• Thanks popgate, hope it clears soon, I feel like my life got replaced with pharmaceuticals

Amanda x

What is a Community Champion?

I am a Macmillan volunteer. 

Macmillan Support Helpline

0808 808 00 00 

7 days a week between 8am -8pm

• Thanks for your reply Sarah, was up the wall with it last night, hoping for sleep tonight.

Amanda x

0808 808 00 00 

• My local cancer care centre really helped me with a sleep program. It helped with sleeping and with accepting the times when I can't sleep. It made a real difference to me. I was surprised how much it helped. It is different when it is physical stuff keeping you awake, but the accepting not sleeping does help there. 

Sarah