Will Medication Help Me Cope?

• 7 replies
  • 42 subscribers

Hi everyone

I am a newbie and still going through the investigation process so I hope that I am not being premature on posting on here, but I have read that multiple lung mets are usually considered incurable. A week ago I was told that I have multiple lung mets with uptake on my PET CT scan. Two years ago I had a nasty mucinous rectal cancer with three positive lymph nodes and followed the usual surgery/chemo route. To make matters more complicated I also have a nodule in my left breast with uptake from the PET which was a complete surprise. They are now querying whether the mets are from my rectum or breast so I am being booked for more tests on my breast before they tackle my lungs.

Emotionally I am struggling as you would expect, it is all a bit out of the blue as they never told me I had any lung nodules until several started growing on my last CT. I am functioning during the day but by the evening I am tired and emotional and keep crying. I hate the constant feeling of panic, I am not sleeping, my stress is through the roof. I know it has only been a week and it is early days but can anyone tell me if the anxiety gets any better? I am wondering about asking my GP for sleeping tablets or some sort of relaxant. Has anyone had any luck with medication? I don't want to turn into a zombie but I hate this feeling of being out of control and panicky all the time.

thanks

Nicky

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi

I really do feel for you. I’m not a medic but I suspect your understanding is correct. Try to take things one step at a time if you can although I totally get how difficult this is.