What to tell my family ?

• 2 replies
  • 42 subscribers

Hello All

This is my first time posting in this group. I have brain mets, my primary cancer was breast cancer 15 years ago. I found out I had a single brain met in February and this has responded well to stereotactic radio surgery although the right side of my face is still numb and I do suffer from the symptoms of brain swelling. I have just had my next scan brought forward to this week as I have been getting bad tinnitus and the neurologist said it looked on my scan as if their might be a new met and mentioned the lining of the brain. I am now back to feeling as I did at my initial diagnosis and very frightened for the future.

My issue is what to say to my family. I have not asked my prognosis as I don’t think it is very helpful and no one really knows, however I am under no illusions and realise the outlook is not good. My family know I am incurable but I think they expect me to keep going for a long time yet. I am always very positive around them and probably play down the seriousness of my illness. I have 2 daughters aged 25 and 22 and I don’t want them to put their life’s on hold for me (one of them is about to start a new job 4 hours away and I have encouraged her to take the opportunity). Another part of me though wonders if I should tell them I may not have long left - this seems more honest but I really don’t want them to worry or change their life’s. 

I am very worried for their future. I know they are adults now but I remember how much I depended on my Mum when I was in my 20’s and 30’s especially when I became a Mum myself. It breaks my heart to think that they will not have that support. 

Has anyone had conversations with children or other family members and could advice.

Thanks

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi

Welcome to this group, although I am sorry you qualify for membership. I like your user name. You sound like the kind of person who knows what’s really important.